Have you heard about this? ICE officers set to deploy to airports as delays mount, border czar Homan confirms. This is such a bad idea. The largest federal workers union says 'untrained, armed' ICE agents should not replace TSA.
"ICE agents are not trained or certified in aviation security. TSA officers spend months learning to detect explosives, weapons, and threats specifically designed to evade detection at checkpoints — skills that require specialized instruction, hands-on practice, and ongoing recertification," Everett Kelley, president of American Federation of Government Employees, said on Sunday in a statement posted online.
The ACLU is also sounding the alarm:
President Trump and his allies in Congress refused to fund TSA and manufactured a crisis at airports across the country. Now, the president apparently wants to use ICE as his private security force, reminding all of us that ICE is not retreating from lawlessness but assigned at will by the president for political retribution.
This makes me rethink plans to go away this summer. Probably best to stay home, eh? Some others' thoughts, too:
Stunned by all the “ICE isn’t gonna do anything more than what TSA already does” rhetoric.
I've linked to the Bluesky post (as embed seems to be not working for me today). It's an interesting thread. I urge you to click the link and follow it. And one more thread that says a lot more than I can:
What do you think is going to happen when someone doesn't respect their authority?
Do you have to fly anytime soon? Are you rethinking any travel plans now?



